FFA Cup what you need to know

The main national football (soccer) knockout competition in Australia has commenced!

The Football Federation Australia Cup, known as the FFA Cup, is an annual competition that features all 10 teams from the A-League as well as teams from lower leagues such as the National Premier League and other state based leagues.

648 teams from around Australia entered the preliminarily stages of the comp, and just 32 teams remained as the FFA Cup kicked off on Wednesday night.

The 10 A-League teams join the winner of last years NPL comp Metro Stars, and the final 21 places are filled by the teams who qualified through their state preliminary stages.

A-League’s Perth Glory, along with Sorrento FC and Perth SC are WA’s successful representative teams in the competition. Glory made it to the grand final last year but they were unfortunately beaten by Adelaide United. Can they win the trophy this year??

Screen Shot 2015-07-30 at 8.10.42 pm

FFA Cup Games to look out for in round 1:

5th August – Sorrento FC vs Sydney FC at NIB Stadium

5th August – Perth SC vs Rockdale City Suns at Ilinden Sports Centre, Rockdale.

11th August – Perth Glory vs Newcastle Jets at Magic Park, Broadmeadow.

The intriguing part of the FFA Cup is the match ups between the big guns from the A-League against the underdogs from the lower leagues. The David and Goliath type battles are what brings in the attention and support from the football fans from around Australia.

If you cant get to a game, the FFA Cup twitter channel @FFACup will provide you with live updates throughout the competition.

Get behind our WA teams and show your support!

@FFACup Tweets: