WA border will reopen to New South Wales and Victoria on December the 8th.

Today Western Australian Premier Mark McGowan announced an easing of WA’s border for New South Wales and Victoria.

Subject to no further outbreaks occurring and based on updated Chief Health Officer advice, Victoria and New South Wales will be classified as ‘very low risk’ states from 12.01am, Tuesday, December 8 – removing the requirement for travellers to spend 14 days in mandatory quarantine.

What this means for NSW and VIC travellers into WA

Travel from Victoria and New South Wales to be permitted into WA with the following conditions:

  • All Perth Airport arrivals to undergo a health screening and temperature test on arrival
  • Travellers to be prepared to take a COVID-19 test at the airport COVID clinic, if deemed necessary by a health clinician (voluntary asymptomatic testing available for all airport arrivals)
  • Completion of a G2G Pass declaration, stipulating they do not have any COVID-19 symptoms and which jurisdictions the traveller has been in over the previous 14 days
  • All travellers to receive a SMS health check reminder one week into their stay in WA
  • All land arrivals to be met at the border checkpoint, for a health screening and to have their G2G Pass declaration checked.
WA Border - NSW & VIC
Source: Mark McGowan – Facebook

Other jurisdictions currently in the ‘very low risk’ category include the Australian Capital Territory, Queensland, Northern Territory and Tasmania.

South Australia is still regarded as medium risk, which means tough border restrictions will remain in place for that state until at least December the 11th.

More to come.

Watch: Mark McGowan announces the easing of border restrictions

Feature image: AAP Image/Richard Wainwright

Stay up to date with latest Perth news and Perth COVID-19 updates on SoPerth.com.au.